Day 168 Cookies

My final picnic contribution is one of the recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book simply called Cookies. This one was contributed by Susan Schwartz.

I creamed butter and sugar together. I opted not to use the half lard/half butter combination so that in this modern world vegetarians could enjoy these cookies. I added the medium eggs and mixed. My next decision concerned the lemon flavor. Was this real lemon or lemon extract? How much should I add? I decided to add the zest of one lemon plus a few drops of lemon extract. Next I sifted a cup of flour and the 3 teaspoons of baking powder together and added another 1 1/2 cups of flour so that the cookies could be rolled. I wanted to pull out some cookie cutters and start cutting the cookies but my cutters appear to have been packed away back in April in the aftermath of the broken water pipe. The repairs to my home are not complete so most of my possessions are still in storage. Instead I used a handy juice glass and cut the cookies in circles putting them on a greased cookie sheet. I baked them at 350 degrees F. for 8 or 9 minutes.

Like Maggie Wisdom, Susan Schwartz is invisible when it comes to the census or anything on Waterloo Generations. The website does list a Susannah Schwartz but she was born far too early to be Susan. Another woman must remain unknown for now.

Susan Schwartz’ Cookies are a good basic cookie, similar to a sugar cookie. They were well received by children and adults alike at the picnic. One man commented that the lemon flavour was just right and they were “lemony snicket”. Since these cookies don’t have much of a name perhaps they should be called “Susan Schwartz’ Lemony Snicket Cookies” if the author of that book doesn’t mind. Even if Susan Schwartz has left no other record behind at least we can remember her for her cookies.

COOKIES
2 eggs, 1/2 cup of butter or 1/2 lard with butter, 1 cup white sugar, flavor with lemon, 3 teaspoons baking powder, sifted with flour to roll.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

