Day 157 Salad Dressing

I had a surprise invitation to supper tonight so I decided to make something quick and easy. It is one of several recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book simply titled Salad Dressing.This one was contributed by Mrs. Ph. Gies.

I beat one medium egg and shook in some pepper and salt and then added the tablespoon of butter. I blended the dry mustard and cornstarch before adding a bit of white vinegar. I nearly filled the cup with more vinegar. I mixed everything together and heated it in a saucepan. Some how I managed to end up with some cooked egg white so I’d suggest a low temperature and constant stirring. As soon as it was thick I removed the pan from the heat and poured in a cup of whipping cream. I left it to cool while picking some lettuce from my tiny porch garden.

Philip Gies and Matilda Waller were married in 1890 according to the Waterloo Generations website. In the 1901 census Philip was 38, Matilda was 33 years old and they had three children age 9, 7 and 5. They had a 14-year-old girl Stella Stumpf living with them as domestic help. Matilda was born in Germany and emigrated as a baby while Philip was a local boy who started out as a tinsmith and eventually became a finisher and finally a machine manufacturer. The family’s denomination is Lutheran. It looks like they live at 170 King Street West according to the 1911 Berlin census. The two girls are not employed but the boy is a manager in a leather factory at 17 years old!

My friend and her dog stopped by as I was testing Mrs. Gies’ Salad Dressing so they became additional tasters. We all liked the dressing and the dog preferred the dressing over the lettuce. She wouldn’t eat the lettuce! The dressing is quite tangy. I would ease back on the vinegar next time. Perhaps my cup was larger than that used by Mrs. Gies. This makes quite a large amount of dressing since it contains 2 cups of liquid. I don’t know how long it will keep so I’d suggest trying it with salad and to mix with sandwich fixings such as ham, salmon, chicken or perhaps even egg salad. Since Mrs. Gies has German roots I can imagine her serving this dressing with a cabbage salad.

SALAD DRESSING
Beat 1 egg, add salt, pepper, and 1 tablespoonful butter, mix 1 teaspoonful of mustard and 1/2 teaspoonful cornstarch with a little vinegar until smooth then add enough vinegar to almost fill the cup, add this to the egg and let it boil until it thickens, add 1 cupful cream.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

