Day 153 Scalloped Potatoes

Today is a rainy and almost cold day so I decided to try this recipe for Scalloped Potatoes. Miss K. Mangold contributed the recipe to the 1906 Berlin Cook Book and it is one I’ve tended to avoid. I love my mother’s scalloped potatoes so I suspect that Miss Mangold’s scalloped potatoes will be disappointing.

I decided to make a very small amount of this recipe so I peeled and sliced just two potatoes. I didn’t have a granite dish available so I used a small casserole dish. I put a layer of potatoes first and then added the seasonings, flour, and butter. The recipe calls for “a little” flour. I used a teaspoon for each layer. My two potatoes made three layers. I baked the scalloped potatoes in a 375 degree F. oven for 45 minutes.

Miss K. Mangold is likely Catherine Mangold. She is listed in the 1911 census as 25 years old and living with her 50-year-old mother Elizabeth, brother and two sisters at 144 Queen Street North. Her mother is listed as L. S. which turns out to mean Living Separate from her husband. It is easy to forget that marital problems existed in 1912 just as they do today. She had emigrated to Canada from Germany when she was 21. Catherine, her brother and sister all work as shoemakers in the rubber factory. Everyone is Lutheran and speaks both English and German.

Miss Mangold’s Scalloped Potatoes don’t look much like my mother’s version but they are quite good. My mother makes a white sauce and puts it on every layer of potatoes. It is sometimes difficult to judge how much sauce to prepare for the amount of potatoes needed. This recipe uses just the one dish and is easy to adjust for different quantities. I still prefer my mother’s scalloped potatoes but Miss Mangold’s recipe is worth trying. I will use just a little less milk next time and a little more salt and pepper.

SCALLOPED POTATOES
Peel and slice as many potatoes as desired, take a granite dish and put in layers, first a layer of potatoes, sprinkle over salt and pepper, a little flour and small pieces of butter, repeat this till dish is near full; pour on sweet milk till all is covered, bake in a hot oven.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

