Day 151 Cocoanut Bavarian Cream

Today’s recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book is Cocoanut Bavarian Cream. The recipe was submitted by Mrs. H. J. Sims.

I wasn’t sure how much gelatine to use for this recipe. I decided to try two envelopes of Knox gelatine as that is 1/2 the current package. I soaked the gelatine in the milk longer than expected as I had an opportunity to go out tonight and it was a late evening. I finished the recipe by adding the sugar , cocoanut and the rest of the milk. Next I whipped the cream and stirred it into the other mixture. I tasted it at this point and then poured it into a pudding bowl and cooled.

Mrs. H. J. Sims is likely Florence K. Roos who was married to Harvey J. Sims. In 1911 the Presbyterian couple lived at 26 Ahrens St. West and Mr. Sims was a lawyer. Their first child was just two years old when the cook book was published and their second child was born in 1908.

I will have to report on the final result tomorrow. However, I can say that I probably should have used more gelatine. The mixture tastes much like some of the other whipped cream based desserts I’ve been making lately from the cook book. This one is sweet and cocoanutty (yes I know that isn’t a real word but sometimes made up words work best).

COCOANUT BAVARIAN CREAM
1 cup cream, 1 1/2 cups cocoanut, 1 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cups milk, 1/2 package of gelatine. Soak gelatine in a cup of milk then add sugar and cocoanut mixed with the other 1/2 cup milk, and lastly the whipped cream and pour into a mould.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

