Day 147 Fruit Creams

I am attending an out of town wedding today so I prepared my 1906 Berlin Cook Book recipe this morning. I chose to make Fruit Creams using a recipe submitted by Miss H. O. Boullee.

I peeled four bananas, mashed them and then put them through a sieve. That was the most time consuming process and the end result looks what you find in a jar of banana baby food. I juiced 2 oranges and 1 lemon and put the liquid over the banana pulp. I added the sugar and sherry. I dissolved the gelatine (1 1/4 envelopes of Knox gelatine) in the boiling water. I think I left it a little too long as it was starting to set when I mixed it into the sugary liquid. Finally I whipped the whipping cream and stirred everything together and let it chill just a little before tasting.

I don’t know if Miss H. O. Boulee is related to another contributor Florence Boullee. It will require further research.

The gelatine didn’t work out properly but otherwise this is a nice light dessert. I used very fragrant soft bananas which I think is important to make them easy to sieve and provide more flavour. This would be a great dessert on a hot day.

FRUIT CREAMS
Peel 4 or 5 bananas, mash, put through a sieve, add juice of 2 oranges and as much of the pulp as you wish, juice of 1 lemon, 1 small wine glass of sherry wine, 1 cup of sugar, 1 1/2 tablespoons of powdered gelatine, dissolved in 1/2 cup boiling water. Cool, stirring constantly, lastly add 2 cups of whipped cream.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

