Day 146 Wedding Cake

Tomorrow I will be attending a wedding, and no, I have not been asked to provide the cake. However, in honour of Bruce and Ronah’s wedding, I am using Mrs. W. Weiler’s recipe for Wedding Cake from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. Actually I am making one-third of the recipe since the original recipe calls for three pounds of sugar!

I pulled out my largest mixing bowls. In the smaller one I soaked one pound (4 cups) of raisins and one pound (4 cups) of currants in 1/3 of a pint (3/4 cup) of brandy. I added one pound (3 1/2 cups) of lemon and orange peeling and 1/3 pint (3/4 cup) of molasses. In the largest bowl I mixed one pound (3 cups) of sugar, one pound and 3 ounces (4  cups) of flour, 1/3 of a pound (1 1/2 cups) of almonds, 3/4 teaspoon cloves, and 3/4 of a nutmeg grated. I mixed the wet ingredients into the dry — carefully as my bowl was now full. I ended up adding a little more brandy as the mixture was quite dry. I put everything in a greased large round cake tin and baked in a 300 degree F. oven for 2 hours.

I’m going to assume that Mrs. W. Weiler is also the Mrs. Wm. Weiler who submitted the delicious recipe for Rhubarb Lemon Pie that I tried on Day 117. If so, then Louisa Henrietta Hoefle might have had this same cake when she married William Frederick Weiler sometime before 1900.

The cake tastes good — for a fruit cake — but the texture is a little strange. Part of my almonds were ground almonds which might have affected the texture. I prefer Mrs. Uttley’s version of wedding cake from February 29 far more than Mrs. Weiler’s Wedding Cake. Few couples today even know the person making their wedding cake let alone have someone in the family make it. I don’t think many community cook books today include a recipe for wedding cake. There were bakeries in Berlin in 1912 but weddings still tended to be family affairs. Some couples had very elaborate weddings which were described in the newspapers. I read of one Berlin wedding where the wedding cake came from Toronto but I can’t locate the reference right now. Tomorrow I will be attending a simple wedding and I’m sure the cake will be much better than my efforts tonight.

WEDDING CAKE
3 pounds sugar, 3 pounds raisins, 3 pounds currants, 3 pounds lemon and orange peeling, 3 1/2 pounds flour, 1 pound almonds, 1 pint best brandy, 1 pint molasses, 2 teaspoons cloves, 2 nutmegs.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 146 Wedding Cake

  1. Desmond Jagger-Parsons says:

    For our wedding, I asked my mother to make our cakes and mail them up. She makes Christmas cakes which I love. My friend Robin (who was dying at the time) iced and decorated the cake, which I suggested could be stacked – there were 2. Well, as Mom pointed out, this was a fruit cake and so not really amenable to the stacking idea. The whole thing crumbled apart at our wedding reception long before anyone thought about cutting it. The crumbs and bits were eaten (though Chris, I think never touched a bite…he despises fruit cake) and we laughed at it. Robin dubbed it that @#$@#$@#$ cake. So far, marriage has crumbled in the same fashion, but truth be told, we’ve processed with just the same amount of dignity.

Leave a Reply

