Day 136 Egg Drink

Today was an eventful day and so I have selected a quick recipe. Since I am one year older today I thought I should be brave and try a recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book that I’ve been dreading — Egg Drink. It was submitted by the one and only male contributor Rev. A. O., Syracuse, N.Y. You might wonder how I know this individual is male but in 1906 a minister is likely to be a man and we have run across him already.

The recipe for Egg Drink is quite straight forward but I don’t like eggs so I decided to make one third of the recipe. I broke two medium eggs into a measuring cup and added 1/2 cup of sugar. Once they were well mixed I added 1/3 of a tablespoon of white vinegar. Finally I added 5 1/3 cups of cold water and stirred well. The mixture started to look frothy. I poured some into a glass and added a drop of lemon flavouring to the glass. I stirred and then bravely tasted.

Rev. A. O. of Syracuse N.Y. is likely Reverend Alexander Oberlander. He was a minister at St. Peter’s Lutheran Church in Berlin. I’ve mentioned his daughter Meda Oberlander several times as she lived with her brother the Reverence Frederick E. Oberlander when he was minister of the same church. Rev. Alexander Oberlander was around 73 years old when the Berlin Cook Book was published.

I truly dreaded tasting this mixture but in the interest of gaining an understanding of the cook book and its time period I bravely took a sip. I took another sip. I didn’t gag. In fact it was rather tasty!! I didn’t taste egg and instead it tasted like lemon sugar water. I should point out that I was consuming raw egg. It is important to consider the risks before trying this recipe.

EGG DRINK
Stir thoroughly 6 egg with 1 1/2 cups of sugar, add 1 tablespoon vinegar, 1 gallon of cold water. Flavor to taste. Keep in a cool place. By using more or less eggs and sugar the quantity can be increased or diminished.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

