Day 134 Boiled Asparagus

Today was a busy day with family here and a surprise birthday party for ME!! I didn’t have much time to prepare a recipe but I did happen to buy some asparagus yesterday at the Kitchener Market. Thus tonight’s recipe is for Boiled Asparagus in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. This recipe was submitted by Mrs. James Wesley.

I didn’t use a full bunch of asparagus. I snapped off the ends and washed the asparagus. I experimented with techniques for removing the scales and found that sliding a knife along was easy. I boiled some water and then popped the asparagus in and left it to cook for at least 10 minutes. I removed the asparagus when it was soft to the fork but not falling apart. A little butter on top and then we sampled.

Mrs. James Wesley is a mystery. I can’t find the name Wesley in Waterloo Generations or either the 1901 or 1911 census.

This simple preparation of asparagus was delicious according to my tasters. It hit the spot as a last night snack, especially after a day of cake! Normally I steam asparagus but boiling works too especially with the thick stalks I choose tonight. Such a simple recipe is unusual in this cook book but I’m glad I decided to try it.

BOILED ASPARAGUS
Cut off lower parts of stalks as far down as they will snap, wash and remove scales, tie into bunches, cook in boiling water until soft; drain, remove string, spread with butter, allowing 1 1/2 tablespoonfuls of butter to each bunch of asparagus.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

