Day 132 Snow Pudding

Today the weather warmed up so it seemed the perfect time to try one of the many recipes for Snow Pudding found in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I decided to start with the version contributed by Miss Hattie Strickland. Although the directions sound like it should be made in the winter, I think of this as a summer dessert as it requires so little cooking. My grandmother often talked of snow pudding although I don’t think I ever experienced it. For years I’ve wanted to make and taste this dessert but it includes raw egg white so I needed brave people to sample it with me. My sister is visiting this weekend so she became my guinea pig.

I put one envelope of Knox gelatine into a bowl with 1/4 cup of cold water. While it softened I squeezed the juice from a lemon and measured the sugar. After 15 minutes I added the juice, sugar and boiling water to the soft gelatine and stirred. I put the bowl in a sink of cold water after we fixed the faucet that decided to come apart at this moment.  My sister stirred that mixture while I whipped the eggs. I had separated the yolks and whites of two medium eggs while waiting for the gelatine to soften. I wasn’t sure when it was “syrupy” so we decided to go ahead and add the beaten egg whites. I mixed for a few minutes and then we tasted.

Hattie Strickland was 15 years old in 1901 and according to the census she lived with her parents John R. and Sarah (Sarina) Strickland. The household also included her older sister, two younger sisters and two younger brothers. They were Church of England  and later Methodist. Her father was a station agent for the Grand Trunk Railway. Hattie is missing from the family household at 305 King Street West in the 1911 census so I’m assuming she married.

This version of snow pudding is refreshing. My sister taster says it is a bit like lemon squash. I liked it and have put it in the modern fridge to allow it to set up a little more. I think a little more patience in allowing the gelatine mixture to become thicker would help the end result. A modern cook who prefers a tart taste should reduce the sugar just a bit. If you have concerns about the use of raw egg white, consider using the pasteurized egg white available in the egg section of the grocery store.

SNOW PUDDING
1 tablespoon granulated gelatine, 1/4 cup cold water, 1 cup boiling water, 1 cup sugar, juice of 1 lemon, whites of 2 eggs, Soak the gelatine in cold water for 15 minutes, stir in the boiling water, sugar and lemon juice and stir until sugar is dissolved, set the bowl in a pan of cold water or snow, and stir frequently till the mixture is a thick syrup, beat till frothy, add the egg whites, beaten to a stiff froth, and beat till the jelly is firm enough to hold its shape. Put on the serving dishes, serve with sauce.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

