Day 122 Soup Drops

I wanted to try something different so I selected the recipe for Soup Drops in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. Meda Oberlander contributed this interesting recipe.

I cracked an egg into a bowl and added some bread crumbs. I melted a bit of butter and then a little more bread crumbs until I had a soft dough. I mixed in the dried herb since I didn’t have fresh. I heated beef broth to boiling and then dropped in balls of this dough.

Meda Oberlander is associated with many of the recipes in the cook book. I have a strong feeling she is the organizer for this cook book. As the sister of the Lutheran minister she was in a good position to gather recipes from all sorts of women.

These little balls of dough were surprisingly tasty. A vegetarian might find them a good substitute for little meat balls especially in something like Italian Wedding Soup. A modern cook can have fun tossing these balls in a variety of broths and in experimenting with different herbs in the dough. I can imagine dill or oregano or tarragon adding a little texture and taste to plain broths.

SOUP DROPS
Add to a chicken or beef bouillon, balls about the size of a hickory nut, made of grated bread crumbs, mixed with one egg, a little melted butter and some finely chopped parsley. Press them together firmly and drop into soup stock.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 122 Soup Drops

  1. Desmond Jagger-Parsons says:

    There’s a Jewish soup recipe – Matzoh ball soup that is really similar. I wonder was it a basic European/German recipe of the time?

  2. Karen Chambers says:

    I’m thinking this is like the Pennsylvania Dutch or Mennonite recipe for Drepsli Soup

  3. Yes it does sound like drepsley or even rivel soup. I’ve been learning more about this style of “dumpling” now that I have a connection to Schneider Haus in Kitchener.

Leave a Reply

