Day 116 Graham Biscuits

I thought these Graham Biscuits would go nicely with the beef stew I served for supper tonight. The recipe was contributed by Mrs. S. A. Neely of Guntersville, Ala. for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I made 1/2 the recipe because I didn’t need very many biscuits. I measured out 1 cup of Graham flour and added 1/2 teaspoon baking powder and 1/8 teaspoon of salt. I mixed it and added over 1/2 cup of cream to make a soft dough. Sweet cream simply means fresh instead of sour cream. I rolled the dough and cut out circles using a cookie cutter. I baked them on a greased cookie sheet at 375 degrees for 10 minutes.

My first task in trying to find something about Mrs. S. A. Neely was to find Guntersville, Ala. In 1906 there were Neelys in the Strathcona District of Alberta but I suspected that I was looking in the wrong country. Guntersville is a community in Alabama, USA.  I’m not sure why anyone from Berlin Ontario would have a connection with this town. Like Berlin it was settled by German immigrants but long before Mrs. Neely was making Graham Biscuits. There is a Neely Avenue in Guntersville and there are still Neelys in the community.

Finally on day 116 I made a Berlin Cook Book recipe that was inedible. I took one bite of graham biscuit and couldn’t take another. It tasted like sawdust. I was not willing to let my taster try one. Every other recipe I’ve tried in this cook book has had some potential or the failure could be attributed to technique or interpretation. I don’t think there is any way to make this tasty.

GRAHAM BISCUITS
1 pint Graham flour, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1/4 teaspoon salt. Mix thoroughly with enough sweet cream to make soft dough, stirring with a spoon. Roll and cut, bake in hot oven.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 116 Graham Biscuits

  1. Naomi says:

    I enjoyed reading this review Carolyn! It made me laugh! I hope the next one turns out better. If only we could go back in time to ask this Mrs. Neely was she thought of those crackers. Maybe they were meant for her pets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

