Day 111 Sponge Cake

We’re home! I am back cooking in my kitchen … at least for now. I decided to make Sponge Cake from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. The recipe was submitted by Mrs. A. Dreher of Cullman Alberta.

I separated the eggs and beat the yolks. Next I added the sugar and mixed it well. I boiled some water and slowly mixed it into the egg/sugar. I stirred in the flour, baking powder and vanilla. I beat the egg whites and folded them into the batter. I poured the sponge cake batter into a greased round cake pan and baked the cake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees F.

Mrs. A. Dreher is still a mystery. I can’t find her in the census. I wonder what her connection is to the Berlin Community. She appears to have sent this recipe from her home in Alberta.

Although I know nothing about Mrs. Dreher, she has contributed a very good recipe for sponge cake. This is quick and easy to make. I think it would be a good idea to grease and flour the cake pan. It was a little challenging to get out while warm. Once cool it is easy to split or it could be baked in two layers. I imagine all sorts of icings and fillings for this cake. On its own it is okay but it would make a wonderful base for jam and cream.  This is a great cake to serve anyone unable to have dairy.

SPONGE CAKE
1 1/2 cups sugar, 4 eggs, 2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon of vanilla, 1 teaspoon of baking powder, 1/2 cup boiling water, first beat the yolks good, then add sugar, stir well, add 1/2 cup of boiling water, then flour, vanilla and baking powder, last the beaten whites. this is nice for loaf or layer.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 111 Sponge Cake

  1. It turns out that the abbreviation Ala indicated Alabama in the United States. Mrs. Dreher was living in Cullman Alabama but I believe now that she is Meda Oberlander’s sister Amelia.

Leave a Reply

