Day 110 Salad Dressing with Butter

I was fortunate to be able to cook in another kitchen tonight since we are staying at the B & B again. I made Salad Dressing with Butter to accompany our meal. Desmond provided the supplies and the stove and his children made good testers. Mrs. R. Alt contributed the recipe to the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I melted the butter in a saucepan and then added the flour to make a roux. Next I stirred in the milk and let it thicken up a bit. I skipped the double boiler arrangement and continued to add the ingredients to the saucepan. I whisked in the dry mustard next and then carefully added the eggs before it got too hot. I added the salt, pepper and sugar but forgot all about the “speck” of cayenne pepper. Finally I mixed in the vinegar and let it thicken while stirring occasionally. I quickly cooled the salad dressing in the fridge –the 21st century version of the ice chest mentioned in the recipe. There was no time to bottle the dressing as the salad and the hungry children were waiting.

Mrs. R. Alt has to remain a mystery for the time being. All the Alt families I found in Ontario in the 1901 census, live in Bruce County. None of the men have a name starting with R. There are even fewer Alts in Ontario in the 1911 census. I also tried the surname Ault but didn’t find Mrs. R. there either. At least the taste of her salad dressing is no longer a mystery.

This dressing is great. Two men, one little boy and myself enjoyed it on the salad. Only one little boy was not quite brave enough to try it. The three-year old decided it should go on the rest of his meal too. I followed his example. It was great with the salmon and broccoli but I didn’t put it on my mashed potatoes although he seemed to think it was a good addition. Originally I thought this recipe made a large amount but with people using it as a sauce as well as a dressing we didn’t have very much left. If you can manage the calories, I highly recommend Mrs. Alt’s salad dressing. I’m sure it is even better with the cayenne pepper although perhaps the young tester would not have liked it quite as much.

 

SALAD DRESSING WITH BUTTER
4 tablespoons butter, 1 of flour, 1 tablespoon salt, 1 of sugar, 1 heaping teaspoon mustard, 1 speck of cayenne pepper, 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup vinegar, 3 eggs. Let the butter get hot in a saucepan, add the flour and stir until smooth, being careful not to brown, add the milk and boil up; place the saucepan in another of hot water. Beat the eggs, salt, pepper, sugar and mustard together, and add the vinegar; stir this into the boiling mixture and stir until it thickens like soft custard, which will be in about five minutes. set away to cool and when cold bottle and place in the ice chest. This will keep 2 weeks.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

