Day 106 Crullers

I’m not sure why this recipe appealed to me today other than I have several young men hanging about who might enjoy tasting some of Mrs. J. H. Gorman’s Crullers and the fact that the doughnut cutter fell out of the cupboard. It is one of several cruller and doughnut recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I creamed butter and sugar and added eggs. I mixed in the milk and baking powder. I decided to add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. In the end I needed 4 cups of flour and probably should have added more.

Mrs. J. H. Gorman is likely 38-year-old Dorthea who is married to Joe H. Gorman in the 1901 census. They have three children, a daughter age 15 and two boys 14 and 12, plus Dorthea’s 85-year-old widowed father Henry Hollaender is also in the home. Mr. Gorman is a merchant. Dorthea is German Lutheran but her husband is Irish Catholic. By the 1911 census he appears to be living on his own at 182 Lancaster Street. He works on his own as what appears to be some sort of commercial agent. There are no other Gorman’s listed in the Berlin area. He is widowed and I suppose the children have married and/or moved away. I wonder when Dorthea Hollaender Gorman died and why? She would have been less than 48 years old.

Clearly Mrs. Gorman cooked for a crowd as this recipe makes a lot of  doughnuts. Too bad they didn’t turn out very well. I’m not sure if it is the recipe or cook error. I think I added too much cinnamon. I tried making the crullers both thin and thick but neither was particularly successful. I think after tasting those amazing crullers back in February, nothing else measures up. I gave a few of the better samples to the young men and they weren’t impressed either. Sadly Mrs. Gorman’s Crullers are not worth the effort.

CRULLERS
3 eggs, 2 cups of sugar, 1 cup of butter, 2 cups of milk, 2 teaspoons baking powder, spice to taste, flour to stiffen. cut in rings and fry in hot lard.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

