Day 104 Cornstarch Cake

I was invited out for supper tonight so I made Mrs. G. Bergman’s Cornstarch Cake recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I creamed the butter and sugar, separated the eggs, and added the four medium egg yolks. Next was the milk and finally the cornstarch, flour and baking powder. I beat the egg whites and folded them into the rest of the batter. I poured it into a greased cake pan and baked at 350 degrees F. for about 50 minutes. I should have baked it in two pans both for speed and cake texture.

George (29) and Anna (26) Bergman appear in the 1901 census along with their 4 year old daughter Freida. George was a tailor.

The cake turned out alright although the group of tasters did not rave about it. It was bland. The one thing I like about cornstarch cakes is the texture. It is a much finer texture than other cakes. A modern cook might want to add some flavouring to the cake.

Unfortunately I’ve not been able to access my blog all evening due to some sort of technical glitch. I was finally able to get in and write now so I’ll try to flesh this out tomorrow.

CORNSTARCH CAKE
2 cups white sugar, 3/4 cup butter, yolks of four eggs, 1 cup sweet milk, 1 1/2 cups cornstarch, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 1/2 cups flour. Last of all add whites of eggs well beaten.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

