Day 100 Doughnuts

There is something about reaching 100 days with the 1906 Berlin Cook Book that calls for celebration, especially after a hard day, so I decided it was time for doughnuts again. This time the recipe for Doughnuts was contributed by Mrs. John Weiler.

I made half the recipe by mixing 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 egg together. Next I added 1/2 cup of milk and 1 teaspoon of baking powder. I added 2 cups of flour but I think less would work. I melted lard in a pot while I rolled out a portion of the dough. I used a doughnut cutter to cut the shape. I put the doughnut in the hot lard taking my usual precautions and them fry. I think I might have rolled them too thin as they remained rather thin doughnuts.

Mrs. John Weiler is probably Mary. She is John’s second wife. In the 1911 census the couple have two daughters and four sons living at home on Wilhelm Street. The youngest boy Leo was born the year of publication for the Berlin Cook Book. The family’s heritage is German and they are Roman Catholic. John is a stationary engineer in a furniture factory. The oldest boy 17 year old Charlie is a cabinet maker in a furniture factory. The oldest girl 15 year old Josephine is a machine operator in a whitewear factory.

Mrs. Weiler’s doughnuts are okay. They are not the best doughnut but they are different from others I’ve tried. It is a bit more like bread than cake in style. I tried making a thicker doughnut and it was okay but still much more like bread.

DOUGHNUTS
2 eggs, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup sweet milk, 2 teaspoons baking powder, flour to stiffen, roll out and drop in hot lard.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 100 Doughnuts

  1. Laurie says:

    Congratulations on reaching Day 100 of your blog, Carolyn!

Leave a Reply

