Day 99 Potato Cakes for Breakfast

Today I expected to make a big meal for my extended family using some recipes from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. The “flood” and resulting noisy drying machines have made the visit impossible. So this morning I decided to make POTATO CAKES FOR BREAKFAST since I have some mashed potatoes left from last night’s supper. Mrs. Nick Schwartz contributed this recipe.

I had less than 1 cup of left over mashed potatoes so I reduced the recipe slightly. I added salt, pepper and nutmeg. I separated one medium egg and then spooned about half the yolk into the potatoes. I stirred it all together. The mixture was too wet to use my hands so I dropped teaspoons of the potato onto the greased cookie sheet and flattened them slightly. I whipped the egg white a little with a fork and then used it to brush the tops of the potato cakes. I popped them into the 375 degree oven for almost 20 minutes.

Mrs. Nick Schwartz remains a mystery for now. There is a Nicholas Schwartz in the Waterloo Generations list but his wife Elizabeth Fortin would be in her late 70s when the cook book was published. The 1901 census lists a father and son Nicholas in Carrick (Bruce County). It is possible that the 24 yr old son marries and moves to Waterloo County between 1901 and 1906.

I was looking forward to trying this recipe as it is such a unusal way to make pancakes. I’ve never heard of baking them. The potato cakes are okay but mine didn’t crisp up or brown the way I expected. Perhaps I should have baked them for longer or at a higher heat. Since leftover mashed potatoes are common in my house, I’ll give this recipe another try. Modern cooks should taste the mixture to ensure the flavours are balanced. I had too little salt and too much nutmeg in mine.

POTATO CAKES FOR BREAKFAST
Take some mashed potatoes left over from dinner, add to them 1/2 salt spoon of pepper, nutmeg, salt and the yolk of egg. Form into small cakes, put in a buttered baking pan, brush the top with the white of an egg and brown in a quick oven.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

