Day 98 Kisses

On Valentine’s Day I made Kisses. I thought it would be nice to have some for Easter too. This version of Kisses was submitted by Miss N. Decker for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I creamed the butter and sugar and added the medium egg. I added the milk, cream of tartar, soda and 2 cups of flour. I wasn’t sure if it was enough but it looked like cookie dough so I decided not to risk adding any more flour. I greased a cookie sheet and dropped the dough by teaspoon onto the pan. I sprinkled some icing sugar on top and then baked at 375 degrees F. for 10 minutes.

Miss N. Decker is likely Nellie K. Decker. In the 1901 census she is 19 years old and lives with her parents and eight sisters and three brothers. Yes, that means Mr. and Mrs. Decker have twelve children in the house! They range in age from one to twenty-three. In fact this couple had 14 children. Father is Lutheran and Mother is Roman Catholic but the rest of the family is listed as something hard to read. Those working for pay are employed in factories (button, shoe and box). Like most of their neighbours they are of German heritage. By the 1911 census only seven of the children are living at home on 66 Weber street. Nellie is not among them. All family members are listed as Roman Catholic. Father is now retired and the others earn livings at various factories and as a sales clerk in a store. I’m assuming that Nellie married sometime between 1906 and 1911.

I’m not sure I made these Kisses as Miss Decker intended but they taste good. They are lighter than I expected. They are a bit like a sugar cookie in flavour. I took the cookies out of the oven after 7 minutes but they seemed a bit pale and soft so I added a few more minutes. I think somewhere between 7 and 10 minutes would be just right. I don’t think they need any more flour. Adding just two cups of flour keeps the cookies light. I’m curious if they will remain soft tomorrow but I will make these Kisses again. A modern cook might add some flavour or even used coloured sugar instead of powdered sugar on top of the cookies.

I find this a surprisingly small batch of cookies, and a very light style of cookie, for a young woman with so many brothers and sisters. These are the kind of cookie to serve for a tea party.

KISSES
1 egg, 1 cup sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup milk, 1 teaspoon cream of tartar, 1/2 teaspoon soda, flour enough to make a stiff dough, drop on tins and sprinkle over with powdered sugar. Bake in a quick oven.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

