Day 73 Maple Cream

Spring is in the air today and although this Maple Cream (p. 272) does not contain any maple syrup, it will tide me over until I can get the real thing. This recipe was submitted by Mrs. J. Gerbig for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. This version is a little different from the one previously discussed on Day 48 (Feb. 17).

I reduced temptation by reducing the recipe in half. Into a saucepan I added 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup cream, and butter the size of 1/2 an egg (about 1/2 tablespoon). I stirred and then turned up the heat to medium. I continued stirring once it came to a boil. I soon discovered that 15 minutes would be too long when making 1/2 the recipe. I felt it was about the right texture at 7 minutes so I took the pan from the heat and added the vanilla and some chopped walnuts.  I poured it into a greased square baking pan but it only filled half the pan. It cooled quickly and I marked it into squares.

Julius (age 35) and Caroline Gerbig (age 33) have an 11-year-old son Julius and 5-year-old daughter Eleanora in 1901 and Mr. Gerbig works as a clerk. By 1911, an 18-year-old nephew Henry is living with them too on College street. Mr. Gerbig is a machine hand in a furniture factory while the children are working in (a) store(s) where young 21-year-old Julius is a salesman, 15-year-old Eleanora is a tailoress, and Henry is a druggist. Not surprisingly their heritage is German and religion is Lutheran. I picture Maple Cream candy as a Gerbig family favourite. Julius and Henry are cracking walnuts while Eleanora makes the fudge and father or mother read aloud.

Maple Creams

The result of my Maple Cream attempt recalled my fudge failures of the past. It was okay but a bit sugary as I’d probably overcooked it. It tastes good but isn’t perfect. I think I’ll continue to use Mrs. G. Buchhaupt’s recipe instead of this one. Well…. maybe I’ll try it again but make the entire recipe and invite some people over to eat it.

MAPLE CREAM
2 cups brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup sweet milk or cream, butter the size of an egg, stir and boil 15 or 20 minutes, take from fire, add 1 teaspoon vanilla, 3/4 cup chopped walnuts, stir till creamy, pour in buttered pan, cut in squares before it hardens.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

