Day 52 Dainty Crullers

Today is Mardi Gras (Fat Tuesday) so I’ve made a doughnut recipe requiring a lot of fat (and guaranteed to add pounds to anyone eating the results). One of the recipes submitted by Mrs. Helen Krug Arnott for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book is one for Dainty Crullers.

My post on February 3 (Day 34 Fruit Cream Cake) includes more details about Mrs. Helen Krug Arnott but here’s a summary.  She was the wife of a prominent doctor when she lived in Berlin. These dainty crullers would have been very suitable for her to serve at that time. I wonder if she made them in the years to come? She is widowed within a few years of submitting this recipe and she and her son end up living with extended family in Tavistock.

I beat two eggs and then added milk. I wasn’t sure if I was to use 4 tablespoons of butter AND 4 tablespoons of lard or if it was to be 4 tablespoons total of a mix of butter and lard. I decided to try the first option and added 8 tablespoons of the melted fats. I added one cup of flour along with the cream of tartar and baking powder. I grated the orange peel and added that to a second cup of flour. The cruller batter seemed to be thick enough with just those two cups of flour so it was time to fry.

I carefully melted lard into a saucepan. I kept the lid close in case of fire. I am starting to get a little more comfortable with deep-frying but I always pay close attention. Once the fat was hot I added about a tablespoon of the dainty cruller batter.  I had to turn each cruller over as they didn’t turn on their own. Once they were evenly brown I removed them and let the fat drain. I tried rolling one in icing sugar and kept one plain.

Dainty Crullers are delicious! They have a nice hint of orange and are crispy on the outside and light inside. I liked them with icing sugar and plain.

DAINTY CRULLERS
4 tablespoons melted butter and lard, 2 eggs, 1 cup milk, 1 teaspoon cream of tartar, 1 heaping teaspoon baking powder, flour to make a soft dough, flour with the grated rind of an orange, salt to suit taste. Fry evenly and they never fail.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

