Day 51 Sweet Milk Pancakes

Tomorrow is often referred to as Pancake Tuesday so I decided to practice Mrs. Dreber’s recipe for Sweet Milk Pancakes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book.

I couldn’t find any Dreber’s and I tried Dreiber and Drieber too. The Generations website has an Eda Drieber born in the Cambridge area in 1867 or 1868 so she’d be in her late 30’s at the time the cook book was published if this is the correct person.

The reference to sweet milk in the title could refer to the sweetness of the pancakes but more likely it refers to the use of fresh (sweet) milk in the recipe rather than sour milk.

I mixed the dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt and about 1/8 cup of sugar)  and then added the beaten egg and milk and melted butter. It seemed like a lot of baking powder (one and a half tablespoons) and the batter was very thick. I wasn’t sure what to expect as I spooned blobs into a hot oiled frying pan. The pancakes visibly rose in the pan. I don’t like thick pancakes and I was worried they would have a strong baking powder taste. Instead the sweet milk pancakes were delicious. They were crisp on the outside and light inside.  The pancakes had a touch of sweetness that I liked. I topped them with maple syrup out of habit but might skip it next time. I will definitely make sweet milk pancakes again!

Sweet Milk Pancake ready to eat.

SWEET MILK PANCAKES
3 cupsful flour, 1 1/2 tablespoonsful baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 2 cups milk, 2 tablespoonsful melted butter, 1 egg, a little sugar, mix flour, sugar, salt, baking powder together, then add beaten egg and milk, beat thoroughly, add butter last. Bake on hot griddle iron.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 51 Sweet Milk Pancakes

  1. michelle spencer says:

    Like the addition of the picture.

  2. Wayne says:

    I was not sure whether the recipe called for 1-2 TBSP. baking powder or 1/2 (one half) TBSP. The comment in the recipe said it seemed like a lot.

    • One of the unfortunate things about this blog is my inability to use fractions properly. Unlike most word processing programs it doesn’t have the option for selecting symbols or automatically converting them. I’ll try to clarify things in future but generally assume if it says 1/2 cup it means half of a cup and if it is 1 1/2 cups it is one and a half cups.

      In the original recipe it calls for 1 1/2 (one and one half) tablespoons (TBSP) of baking powder. You’ve helped me catch an error in my transcription. Thank you. I’ll fix that right away.

Leave a Reply

