Day 46 Marshmallows

In a continuing tribute to Valentine’s Day I thought I’d make something from the candy section of the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I selected the Marshmallow (p. 273) recipe submitted by Jean Moore.

According to the 1901 census, 24 year old Jean Moore lives with her widowed mother and younger sister in Galt (Cambridge today).

My mother makes a cherry square dessert that has a marshmallow topping so I had an idea how this might proceed. However, she uses a candy thermometer and a mixer to beat the mixture. I thought I should try the 1906 way.

Two tablespoons equals two envelopes of gelatine. I put the required amount of cold water in a small bowl and sprinkled in the gelatine and stirred. It was a big blob but I let it sit for 15 minutes and then added the hot water. The gelatine dissolved quickly as I stirred! I put the sugar in a saucepan and then poured over the liquid gelatine. I had the burner on fairly low. The sugar dissolved quite quickly but I had to decide how much vanilla to add as the recipe doesn’t give an amount. I added too much which made the marshmallows grey rather than white. I would suggest starting with a few drops. I took the pan off the stove and started beating the mixture with a spoon. I switched to a whisk and that worked well.

I used a square baking pan and wet it as suggested. The pan was cold since my kitchen is cold.

MARSHMALLOWS
2 tablespoons gelatine, 1 1/2 cups sugar, 4 tablespoons cold water, 7 tablespoons of hot water, soak gelatine in cold water for 15 minutes, add the hot water and stir until the gelatine is dissolved, put the sugar in a saucepan, pour over it the hot liquid and stir until the sugar is dissolved, take from the fire, add vanilla and beat until the mixture is thick and white and pour at once into a cold wet pan, and keep air tight until cold. Then mark in squares with a warm knife and roll in powdered sugar.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 46 Marshmallows

  1. Susan Odom says:

    wow how cool! you made marshmallows!

Leave a Reply

