Day 38 Peanut Cookies

This recipe in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book looked interesting because it used such small quantities of most ingredients. I like cookies but most recipes make a lot of cookies. Occasionally I’d like to just make a batch which results in just a dozen or two cookies. Violet Mager’s recipe for Peanut Cookies results in an unusually small batch of a very different sort of cookie.

I was surprised not to find any information about Violet Mager. The surname does appear in Waterloo County but I can’t find Violet. I assume she is a young woman as her name is not preceded by “Miss”. However, in the 1901 I did find a 27-year-old single Violet E. Mayer who is living with her 28-year-old single sister Armina M and their 20-year-old brother Talman P. The only change in the 1911 census is that Talman isn’t living with them but instead there is another single 42-year-old female boarder named Louise.

This recipe has some very clear directions. I followed them and assumed that I was also to add the flour, baking powder and salt. I dropped them on to a baking sheet and baked at 350 degrees F. for about 9 minutes. The result was a baker’s dozen of peanut cookies.

The cookies were fine but didn’t appeal to me as I found the flavour of egg quite strong. The texture is a bit spongy which isn’t surprising considering the balance of egg to the other ingredients. These cookies are sort of mini sponge cakes. I imagine these would be a favourite cookie for small tea parties in 1912 as they are soft and easy to handle. A woman would be able to keep her hands or gloves clean while eating a peanut cookie.

I might make these again if I quickly need some cookies to serve. A modern cook might try adding other types of nuts or even raisins instead of the peanuts. If someone doesn’t like the taste of egg then adding some flavouring such as vanilla might mask it.

PEANUT COOKIES
1 tablespoon butter, 2 tablespoons sugar, 2 tablespoons milk, 1 egg, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon baking powder, 1/2 cup peanuts. Beat butter to a cream, add sugar, milk and egg beaten, chopped peanuts. Drop by teaspoons on a buttered pan, and bake in a steady oven.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

