Day 26 Salmon Balls

Canned salmon is used in a number of recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book including Mrs. Chas. Adolff’s Salmon Balls (p. 37). This recipe appears in the section called Fish and Oysters.

How much salmon was in a can in 1906? I’ve seen a can of salmon from this period and it was the size of a modern can of vegetables but perhaps they came in a smaller size too. I decided to try the recipe with a modern can of salmon assuming I could add another can if it was too soupy. Is the amount of flour to be added to the mixture or is it for flouring? I decided to mix in the flour and use additional flour for coating. One can of salmon seemed enough since I was able to roll, flatten and flour the small balls. I ended up with seven small salmon balls or patties. I fried them in some butter and sampled. They were okay but slightly doughy. I think perhaps they needed more salmon or less flour in the mix.

A modern cook could really play with this recipe by adding interesting herbs or some onion to the mix and perhaps fried in olive oil. A tangy or sweet/sour sauce would be nice with them too.

When I was growing up we often had salmon or tuna patties for lunch on Sundays. I expected Mrs. Adolff’s salmon balls to taste familiar but they just didn’t taste the same. I think my parents used dried onion and some spices in our patties.

I could not find Charles Adolff in either 1901 or 1911 census or on the Generations website. However, there is a Charles and Sophia Adloff so I suspect the cook book has a typo.  Sophia Hopp was a stitcher in a shirt factory before becoming the second wife of Charles Adloff in 1901. You can find out more about them on the Generations website which even has this recipe listed! http://generations.regionofwaterloo.ca/getperson.php?personID=I37011&tree=generations

SALMON BALLS
1 can salmon, 1 egg, 2 tablespoons flour, pepper and salt to suit taste, make in balls, press a little flat, roll in flour, fry in butter.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

