Day 22 Drop Cookies

Many of the cookie recipes in the 1906 Berlin Cook Book are rolled cookies which would force me to find my rolling pin and a suitable surface for rolling the dough. Instead I like making drop style cookies, and I like nutmeg, so Mrs. Geo. Reitz’ recipe for Drop Cookies (p. 226) appealed to me. The cookies are quick to make and nice tasting. In 1912 it would be easy to fill the cookie tin with these pale coloured spicy cookies.

I creamed the butter and sugar together and then added the medium eggs. I mixed in the raisins and spices next and then finally the flour and baking powder.  I dropped the dough by teaspoon onto a cookie sheet and baked them for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees F. I took the sheet out when the cookies were slightly brown on the edges.

Freshly Baked Drop Cookies

The recipe mentions seeded raisins. In the past raisins (dried grapes) still came with seeds inside. The seeds had to be removed at home either with nimble fingers or one of the many patent devices available to do the task. Often recipes called for currants instead since they didn’t require seeding. The raisins make Mrs. Reitz’ cookies a little special. I’m adding Drop Cookies to the growing list of Berlin Cook Book recipes I’ll be making long after my project concludes.

DROP COOKIES
1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 cup butter, 1 cup seeded raisins, 3 eggs, 3 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon nutmeg

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 22 Drop Cookies

Leave a Reply

