Day 21 Cocoa Cake and Filling for Chocolate Cake

It’s been three weeks since I started this project so it was time to celebrate with CHOCOLATE. This recipe from the 1906 Berlin Cook Book is for all the lovers of chocolate. Early this morning, I baked Miss Clara Heller’s Cocoa Cake (p. 190), made Mrs. A. M. Snyder’s Filling for Chocolate Cake (p. 214) and took the finished cake to a quilting bee. It was a big hit despite the mistake I made in mixing the cake.

I creamed the butter and sugar and then added the two medium eggs. I added the cocoa next and then mixed the baking powder and flour together and added it. I made a mistake with the next ingredient. I added 1 cup of milk instead of the 1/2 cup listed. I quickly recognized my error but since the batter still looked like cake batter rather than chocolate soup, I decided to continue and pour it into a greased pan. I baked the cake in a 350 degree F. oven for 30 minutes. It seemed to be set so I let it cool and started to look for an icing recipe. In the end I chose to make the filling recipe and use it as a topping since the cake was too hot to cut into layers.

I followed the recipe for the filling but didn’t have any baking chocolate to add so I sprinkled some cocoa powder in instead. It turned out quite well although I think using chocolate would make it even better. I drizzled the warm mixture on top of the cake and took it to my friends.

The tasters really liked this moist chocolatey cake. It was almost like a brownie. I should try making it again using the correct amount of milk but I liked this version very much. I’ll consider making the filling again too. It is sort of a chocolate caramel candy which would be nice on a plain cake. It wasn’t really needed with Clara’s Cocoa Cake.

In 1901 eighteen year old Clara Heller was living with her 19-year-old sister Leonora and their father Herman. The Generations website doesn’t show marriages for either girl and I didn’t find them in a quick search of the 1911 census in Ontario. Where were they when Berlin became a city in 1912?  There are a few possibilities for the identity of Mrs. A. M. Snyder but I think she might be Catherine(nee Cressman) who was married to Albert M. a shipping clerk in a Berlin button factory according to the Generations website.

Anyone who wanted to make chocolate cake in 1912 to help celebrate Berlin’s new status as a city would find it easy to buy cocoa and chocolate. There’s even an ad for Cowan’s Cocoa in the Berlin Cook Book. I used Fry’s Cocoa today and it was also available. Several types and brands of baking chocolate were sold in local grocery stores. The sweet cream in the Filling recipe is simply fresh cream rather than sour cream. There’s no need to sweeten it.

The Cocoa Cake is delicious and quick to make so I recommend it and will make it whenever I need a dose of chocolate.

COCOA CAKE
2 eggs, 1 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup milk, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 cup flour, add 1/2 cup cocoa.

FILLING FOR CHOCOLATE CAKE
1 cup brown sugar, 3 tablespoons sweet cream, 3 tablespoons butter, cook till dissolved, chocolate as much as wanted, enough for 3 layers.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 21 Cocoa Cake and Filling for Chocolate Cake

  1. Darryl Bonk says:

    Clara Alberta Heller daughter of Herman Heller and Louisa Jacobi married in 1907 to Frederick Hirsche Ahrens son of Carl Ahrens and Laura Hirschy and when she died in 1950 she was buried in Woodland Cemetery.

Leave a Reply

