Day 18 Apple Pudding, Baked

So far I’ve made a pudding that was more like a pie and yesterday it was a steamed pudding. Today it is a baked pudding — Apple Pudding, Baked — a recipe submitted by Miss B. Cowan for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. I’ve never encountered a pudding recipe quite like this one. I’m also not sure about the background of Miss B. Cowan. She can’t be Barbara in Dumfries or Bessie in Galt or Bertha in Maryborough as they are all married. Bertha in Stratford is only 6 years old in 1901 so she’s still too young in 1906 to be a recipe contributer. Maybe it is 17 year old B from Mount Forest. There are other possibilities but they live quite far from Berlin. I’ll have to do some more investigating to find the Miss B. Cowan who is responsible for this interesting recipe.

This recipe is a good choice for January 1912 as apples would still be in good condition whether stored at home or purchased. Commercial apple growers stored apples in specially constructed below ground storage areas. Steckle Heritage Farm in Kitchener still has one which you can visit.

The condition of the apples is important for this recipe since they are grated. Many of the recipes I’ve tried so far are quite sweet so I decided to use Northern Spy apples. I’m sure a food processor would make quick work of this recipe for modern cooks. For a cook in 1912 it takes a little longer. Speedy apple peelers were one labour device available in many homes one hundred years ago but I don’t have one so I peeled by hand. I also whisked my egg whites.

I’m not sure this pudding turned out the same way it would for Miss Cowan. The recipe does not include flour so the texture is unusual. I creamed the butter and sugar and added the beaten egg yolks. I grated the lemon rind and added it to the mixture. I suggest adding the lemon juice to the grated apples as it keeps them from browning as fast.  I experimented a bit as I grated the apples. In the end I peeled them and then grated them with a box grater. I tried grating cored quarters of apple but found it worked better to grate the whole apple (stopping when I reached the core). I added the grated apple and lemon juice to the mixture, some nutmeg, and then folded in the whipped egg whites. It really didn’t look appetizing at this point. I poured the mixture into a greased casserole dish. I decided to try baking it at 350 degrees F. and started checking on it after 30 minutes. I tasted it after 45 minutes and the apples were still crisp and the top was slightly brown. I set aside a portion to taste when it was cold but decided to bake the rest for another 15 minutes to see what would happen.

Apple Pudding

I tasted the apple pudding both hot and cold and I agree with Miss Cowan — serve it cold. The end result was interesting although it doesn’t look very appetizing. The main flavour was lemon and then apple. It wasn’t too sweet and would be refreshing after a heavier meal. It would probably suit some types of special diets as the bulk of the ingredients are apples, lemon and egg. I think I’ll experiment some more with this recipe.

APPLE PUDDING, BAKED
Stir 2 tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar to a cream; stir into this the yolks of 4 eggs well beaten, the juice and grated rind of 1 lemon, and 1/2 dozen sound apples grated. Now stir in the 4 beaten whites of the eggs, season with cinnamon or nutmeg, bake. to be served cold with cream.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 18 Apple Pudding, Baked

  1. Darryl Bonk says:

    A single Bessie Cowan lived in Galt in 1901 the niece of Margaret & Arthur Burnett Cowan. She is possibly the author.

Leave a Reply

