Day 6 Oatmeal Macaroons

I am attending a Christmas party tomorrow so I tried preparing something called Oatmeal Macaroons (p. 223) as they look healthier than most of the cookie recipes. At this point in the post festival feasting that seemed important. Mrs. T. E. McLelan submitted the recipe for the 1906 Berlin Cook Book. It seems quite straightforward with simple ingredients and reasonably clear directions.  Sadly the end result tasted okay but spread all over the pan and was very difficult to remove. I’m not sure if it is cook error or recipe error. One taster has declared “good cookies” but the rest of us think they need work.

I think the size of the eggs  might be a factor. Usually I use medium eggs when working with a historic cookbooks as eggs tended to be quite variable in size. Using medium eggs sort of averages out the different sizes. I am staying with family and only had larger eggs available. They had been removed from the carton and I just discovered they were extra-large eggs!  I thought adding a bit more flour to the batter might help and it was an improvement. I will try this recipe again but with medium eggs. I also didn’t add the optional almonds. Perhaps they help bulk up the ingredients.  I used old-fashioned rolled oats and I  think letting them sit in the butter, sugar and egg mixture for a bit before adding the rest of the ingredients would make them softer. As usual there is no indication regarding baking time.  I put them in a 350 degree F. oven  and started checking after five minutes. They took about 10 minutes.

Let me know if the recipe works for you. I have to go make my usual Christmas cookies to bring to the party since the oatmeal macaroons are not presentable.

OATMEAL MACAROONS

1 tablespoon butter, 1 cup granulated sugar, 2 eggs, 2 cups rolled oats, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/4 cup flour to mix baking powder in. Drop with teaspoon into well buttered pans and bake in a moderate oven. Chopped almonds are an improvement.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food History, Kitchener, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 6 Oatmeal Macaroons

  1. Is it possible that Mrs. T. E. McLelan is the wife of Thomas E. McLelan who appears in the 1911 census as an inmate of the Wellington County House of Industry and Refuge (the poor house) in Guelph! He’s 49 years old at the time.

Leave a Reply

